How To Change The Language On Your Xbox One

How To Change The Language On Your Xbox One

May 16, 2019

Have you ever taken your Xbox One with you to another country? If you have, you may have come across some slightly inconvenient barriers when it came to changing the language of your Xbox One. Until now, things like the user interface language and the keyboard language were locked on the Xbox One by Microsoft to the region where you lived.

This created a multitude of issues when living overseas while trying to maintain a Microsoft Account and payment options in your home country where you live, as well as for countries which practice multiple languages. Additionally, some titles have inadequate localization in certain countries, with multi-lingual users preferring to play games in a language separate from their console's store region.

Finally, Microsoft has listened to its user feedback and opted to grant language independence from the console's store region.

You can easily follow the steps listed below to unlink your console's region from its orginal regions language and instead choose a language that suits your needs. You can use this particular method to activate Cortana on your Xbox One if you're in an unsupported region too by selecting the United States or the United Kingdom as your console's language.

Here's how:

  • Double tap the Xbox logo button on your controller. Or, if you're using a Kinect say "Xbox, go to settings" and skip to step #3.
  • Select Settings. It is the gear icon.
  • Select All Settings.
  • Select System, then select Language & Location.
  • Here you have multiple options.

You can do the following:

  • Change the system language.
  • Change Language region.
  • Change Location.
  • Change Spoken language.
  • Change Keyboard language.
  • After making any changes, restart your Xbox One console for changes to take effect.

It can take up to 24 hours for this change to take effect across your Xbox One console. The following list below shows the languages that are available to Xbox One in specific countries or regions.

The Xbox One has 52 different languages and Country/Regions to choose from as listed below;

  1. Australia
  2. English
  3. Austria
  4. German
  5. Belgium
  6. French or Dutch
  7. Canada
  8. English or French
  9. Denmark
  10. English
  11. Finland
  12. English
  13. France
  14. French
  15. Germany
  16. German
  17. Great Britain
  18. English
  19. Hong Kong
  20. English or Chinese
  21. India
  22. English
  23. Ireland
  24. English
  25. Italy
  26. Italian
  27. Japan
  28. Japanese
  29. Korea
  30. Korean
  31. Mexico
  32. Spanish
  33. Netherlands
  34. English
  35. New Zealand
  36. English
  37. Norway
  38. English
  39. Portugal
  40. Portuguese
  41. Singapore
  42. English
  43. Spain
  44. Spanish
  45. Sweden
  46. English
  47. Switzerland
  48. French or German
  49. Taiwan
  50. Chinese
  51. United States
  52. English

Leave a comment

Stop right there criminal scum!

Looking to protect yourself? Or deal some damage? Either way take 30% off your purchase when you sign up with us.